Von Karman Award

Von Karman Award
Von Karman Award is an award given annually for recognizing the outstanding lifetime achievements in any branch of science regardless of nationality or gender. 

The award was instituted by the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), an organization that is committed to expanding the frontiers in space, in the memory of the renowned aerospace scientist and mathematician, Dr. Theodore von Kármán.
  • Established in – 1982 
  • Founder –  Dr. Theodore von Kármán (1st President as well)
  • Instituted by –  International Academy of Astronautics (IAA)

Indian Recipients

Prof. Udupi Ramachandra Rao was the first Indian to receive the von Karman award. 
  • 2005 – Prof. Udupi Ramachandra Rao
  • 2007 – Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan
  • 2020 – Dr. Kailasavadivoo Sivan 
The award will be conferred to Dr. K. Sivan, who is the current chairman of ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) in March 2021 in Paris.


  • Headquarters of International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) –  Paris, France.
    • International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) Founder – Dr. Theodore von Kármán.
    • Current President of IAA – Peter Jankowitsch (Austria).
    • Only Indian to become the President of the International Academy of Astronautics  – G. Madhavan Nair (2009).
  • The chief architect of SITARA – 6D trajectory simulation software – Dr. Kailasavadivoo Sivan.
Thanks for reading!!