Kerala State Film Awards 2023 Winners

Kerala State Film Awards 2023 Winners

The 53rd Kerala State Film Awards were announced on July 21, 2023, at 4 p.m. during a press conference held at the at the secretariat chamber. The awards ceremony was presided over by Saji Cherian, the Minister for Culture.

This year, the selection process was particularly challenging due to the high number of submissions, with approximately 154 films from various genres, including commercial and arthouse films. 

Due to the large influx of films, a trilevel jury, led by esteemed Bengali director, screenwriter, and actor Gautam Ghosh, shortlisted and selected the films.

Among the notable winners, Mammootty was recognized as the Best Actor for his remarkable performance in "Nanpakal Nereth Mayakkum," while Vincy Aloysius earned the title of Best Actress for her role in "Rekha." 

The esteemed title of Best Film was awarded to "Nanpakal Nereth Mayakkum," and the audience-favorite "Nna Thaan Case Kodu" secured the position of Best Popular Film. The Best Director award went to Mahesh Narayanan for his exceptional work in filmmaking.

Additionally, Kunchacko Boban and Alencier received Special Jury Mentions, acknowledging their outstanding contributions to cinema.

The complete list of winners of the 53rd Kerala State Film Awards for Kerala PSC exams are as follows:

List of Winners of 53rd Kerala State Film Awards 2023:

  • Best Film – Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam (നൻപകൽ നേരത്ത് മയക്കം; Director: Lijo Jose Pellissery).
  • Second Best Film – Adithattu (അടിത്തട്ട്; Director: Jijo Antony).
  • Best Actor – Mammootty (Nanpakal Nerathu Mayakkam).
  • Best Actress – Vincy Aloshious (Rekha).
  • Best Director – Mahesh Narayanan (Ariyippu).
  • Best Male Singer – Kapil Kapilan (“കനവേ മിഴിയിലുണരെ,” Pallotty 90’s Kids).
  • Best Female Singer – Mridula Warrier (“മയിൽപ്പീലി ഇളകുന്നു കണ്ണാ,” Pathonpathaam Noottaandu).
  • Best Character Actor – P. P. Kunjikrishnan (Nna Thaan Case Kodu; ന്നാ താൻ കേസ് ​കൊട്).
  • Best Character Actress – Devi Varma (Saudi Vellakka; സൗദി വെള്ളക്ക).
  • Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Nna Thaan Case Kodu.
  • Best Children’s Film – Pallotty 90’s Kids (പല്ലൊട്ടി 90സ് കിഡ്‌സ്).
  • Best Child Actor – Master Da Vinci (Pallotty 90’s Kids).
  • Best Child Actress – Thanmaya (Vazhakku).
  • Best Story Writer – Kamal KM (Pada).
  • Best Screenplay (Original) – Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval (Nna Thaan Case Kodu).
  • Best Screenplay (Adapted) – Rajesh Pinnadan (Oru Thekkan Thallu Case).
  • Best Music Director (Songs) – M Jayachandran (Pathonpathaam Noottaandu and Ayisha).
  • Best Music Director (Background Score) – Dawn Vincent (Nna Thaan Case Kodu).
  • Best Lyricist – Rafeeq Ahammed (“തിരമാലയാണു നീ” Viddikalude Maash).
  • Best Film Editor – Nishad Yousuf (Thallumaala).
  • Best Cinematographer – 
    • Manesh Madhavan (Ela Veezha Poonchira),
    • Chandru Selvaraj (Vazhakku).
  • Best Sound Design – Ajayan Adat (Ela Veezha Poonchira).
  • Best Sound Mixing – Vipin Nair (Nna Thaan Case Kodu).
  • Best Sync Sound – Vysakh V.V. (Ariyippu).
  • Best Choreographer – Shobi Paul Raj (Thallumaala).
  • Best Dubbing Artist (Female) – Pauly Valson (Saudi Vellakka).
  • Best Dubbing Artist (Male) – Shobi Thilakan (Pathonpathaam Noottandu; പത്തൊമ്പതാം നൂറ്റാണ്ട്).
  • Best Makeup Artist – Ronex Xavier (Bheeshmaparvam; ഭീഷ്മ പര്‍വ്വം).
  • Best Costume Designer – Manjusha Radhakrishnan (Saudi Vellakka).
  • Best Art Director – Jyothish Sankar (Nna Thaan Case Kodu).
  • Best Visual Effects – Aneesh T, Sumesh Gopal (Vazhakku).
  • Best Debutant Director – Shahi Kabir (Ilaveeza Poonchira; ഇലവീഴാ പൂഞ്ചിറ).
  • Best Film Book – സിനിമയുടെ ഭാവന ദേശങ്ങൾ (C.S. Venkateswaran).
  • Best Film Article – പുനഃസ്ഥാപനം എന്ന നവേന്ദ്രജാലം  (Sabu Pravdas).
  • Special Jury Mention – 
    • Acting – 
      • Kunchacko Boban (Nna Thaan Case Kodu) 
      • Alencier Ley Lopez (Appan)
    • Direction – 
      • Viswajith S. (ഇടവരമ്പ്)
      • Rareesh (വേട്ടപ്പട്ടികളും ഓട്ടക്കാരും)
    • Special Award in Any Category for Women/Transgender – Shruthi Sharanyam (B 32 Muthal 44 Vare)

Thanks for reading!!!