66th National Film Awards (Complete List)

The 66th National Film Awards Winners' list was announced on August 9, 2019 by Rahul Rawail (the jury head of Feature Films) held at Shastri Bhawan (under the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting (I&B)) for the best films of 2018 in the Indian Film Industry. This year a total no. of 419 films competed for these awards.

Normally the awards are announced every year in April and the conferral ceremony is held in the month of May. But this year, the announcement was delayed 3 months due to the Lok Sabha assembly elections.

Vicky Kaushal (4 awards) and Ayushmann Khuranna shared best actor awards for their performance in the films Uri: The Surgical Strike and Andhadhun respectively. Keerthy Suresh won the Best Actress award for her outstanding performance as the actress of the bygone era Savitri in the movie Mahanati.

This year a special category was added and it is the award for film friendly state and Uttarakhand became the first state to win the award.

Complete List of National Film Awards (2019)

National film awards are given as 31 awards for the feature film categories and 23 awards for the non-feature film categories. Here's the complete list of winners of 66th National Film Awards:
  • Best Feature Film – Hellaro (Gujarati).
  • Best Actor –
    • Ayushman Khurrana (Film: Andhadhun).
    • Vicky Kaushal (Film: Uri: The Surgical Strike).
  • Best Actress – Keerthy Suresh (Film: Mahanati,Telugu).
  • Best Director – Aditya Dhar (Film: Uri: The Surgical Strike).
  • Best Action Film – KGF.
  • Best Debut Film of a Director – Naal (Marathi).
  • Best Popular Film – Badhaai Ho.
  • Best Supporting Actor – Swanand Kirkire (Chumbak, Marathi).
  • Best Supporting Actress – Surekha Sikri (Badhaai Ho, Hindi).
  • Best Children's Film – Sarkari Hi. Pra. Shaale, Kasaragodu, Koduge: Ramanna Rai (Kannada).
  • Best Cinematography – M. G. Radhakrishnan (Olu, Malayalam).
  • Best Sound Recordist – Gaurav Verma (Tendalya, Marathi).
  • Best Sound Designer – Vishwajit Chatterjee (Film: Uri: The Surgical Strike).
  • Best Final Mixed Track – Rangasthalam (Telugu).
  • Best Editing – Nagendra Ujjani (Nathicharami, Kannada).
  • Best Special Effects – Awe, KGF Chapter 1.
  • Best Choreography – Padmaavat (Song: "Ghoomar").
  • Best Film on Other Social Issues – Pad Man.
  • Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation – Paani.
  • Best Feature Film (Nargis Dutt Award) on National Integration – Ondalla Eradalla (Kannada).
  • Best Book on Cinema
    • Mouna Prarthana Pole (S. Jayachandran Nair, Malayalam).
    • In A Cult Of Their Own gets Special Mention (Amborish Roychoudhury, English).
  • Best Film Critic – Blase Johnny (Malayalam), Ananth Vijay (Hindi).

National Award for Non-Feature Film

  • Best Non Feature Film
    • Sun Rise (Vibha Bakshi),
    • The Secret Life of Frogs (Ajay and Vijay Bedi).
  • Best Educational Film – Sarala Virala.
  • Best Film on Family Values – Chalo Jeete Hain.
  • Best Short Fiction Film – Kharvas.
  • Social Justice Film – Why Me.
  • Best Investigation Film – Amoli.
  • Best Sports Film – Swimming Through The Darkness.

National Award for Music

  • Best Male Playback Singer – Arijit Singh (Padmaavat, Hindi).
  • Best Female Playback Singer – Bindhu Malini (Nathicharami, Kannada).
  • Best Lyrics – Manjutha (Nathicharami, song "Maayavi Manave," Kannada).
  • Best Music Direction – Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Padmaavat, Hindi).
  • Best Background Score – Shashwat Sachdev (Uri: The Surgical Strike, Hindi).

National Award for Screenplay

  • Best Screenplay (Original) – Rahul Ravindran (Chi La Sow, Telugu).
  • Best Screenplay (Adapted) – Andhadhun.

National Award for Production

  • Best Costume Design – Mahanati (Telugu).
  • Best Make-Up artist – Awe.
  • Best Production Design – Kammara Sambhavam (Malayalam).

National Award for Regional Films

  • Best Telugu Film – Mahanati.
  • Best Malayalam Film – Sudani From Nigeria.
  • Best Hindi Film – Andhadhun.
  • Best Tamil Film – Baaram.
  • Best Rajasthani Film – Turtle.
  • Best Marathi Film – Bhonga.
  • Best Urdu Film – Hamid.
  • Best Assamese Film – Bulbul Can Sing.
  • Best Punjabi Film – Harjeeta.
  • Best Bengali Film – Ek Je Chhilo Raja.

Special Jury Award

  • Sruthi Hariharan.
  • Joju George (Joseph).
  • Savithri (Sudani From Nigeria).
  • Chandrachood Rai.

    66th National Award & Malayalam

    Malayalam won six (excluding Keerthy Suresh) awards in the 66th National Film Awards. They are as follows:

    Special Jury AwardJoju George (Film: Joseph)
    Savithri Sreedharan (Film: Sudani From Nigeria)
      Best CinematographyM. J. Radhakrishnan (Film: Olu)
      Best Production DesignVignesh Bangalan (Film: Kammarasambhavam)
      Best Book on CinemaS. Jayachandran Nair
      Best CriticBlase Johnny

      The Conferral Ceremony was held at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi on December 23, 2019. Usually the President of India confers the awards to the winners, but this time it was the Vice President, Venkaiah Naidu who did the honor.

      The ceremony was hosted by Bollywood actresses Sonali Kulkarni and Divya Dutta. Some of the winners boycotted the event in protest against the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Act, (CAA).