J. C. Daniel Award

J.C. Daniel Award

J. C. Daniel Award is the highest lifetime achievement award given in the Malayalam film industry for the outstanding contribution to the Malayalam Cinema. It was named after Dr. J.C. Daniel Nadar, the father of Malayalam Cinema.   

Earlier the allocation of this annual award rested with the Department of Cultural Affairs, Government of Kerala which established in 1992. But after 1998, it was Kerala State Chalachitra Academy a self-governing organization under the Govt. of Kerala, who hosted this award.

The award comprises a cash prize of ₹5 Lakh, a plaque, and a citation.

Basic Facts

  • Established in – 1992.
  • Conferred by – Kerala State Chalachitra Academy.
  • First Winner – T.E. Vasudevan.
  • First Actor to win J.C. Daniel Award – Thikkurissy Sukumaran Nair.
  • First Woman to get J.C. Daniel Award – Aranmula Ponnamma (2005).
  • First Singer to win J.C. Daniel Award – K.J. Yesudas (2002).
  • First Posthumous J.C. Daniel Award Winner – Jose Prakash (2011).
  • Last Winner – T.V. Chandran (2022).

List of Recipients

1992T. E. VasudevanProducer & Distributor
1993Thikkurissy Sukumaran NairActor
1994P. BhaskaranLyricist
1996A. VincentCinematographer
1997K. RaghavanComposer
1998V. DakshinamoorthyComposer
1999G. DevarajanComposer
2000M. Krishnan NairDirector
2001P. N. MenonDirector
2002K. J. YesudasPlayback Singer
2005Aranmula PonnammaActress
2006Mankada Ravi VarmaCinematographer
2007P. RamdasDirector
2008K. Ravindran NairProducer
2009K. S. SethumadhavanDirector & Screenwriter
2010Navodaya AppachanProducer
2011Jose PrakashActor
2012J. SasikumarDirector
2013M. T. Vasudevan NairScreenwriter
2014I. V. SasiDirector
2015K. G. GeorgeDirector
2016Adoor GopalakrishnanDirector
2017Sreekumaran ThampiLyricist, Screenwriter, Director & Producer
2020 P. JayachandranSinger
2021K.P. KumaranDirector
2022 (30th)T.V. ChandranDirector

J. C. Daniel (1900-1975)

  • Father of Malayalam Cinema.
  • Director of the first silent movie in Malayalam, Vigathakumaran (1928).
  • Established First Film Studio in Kerala – The Travancore National Pictures (1926).
To Know More About the Life & Achievements of J.C. Daniel, click here.

Previous Year PSC Questions:

  • 2021-ലെ ജെ.സി. ഡാനിയേൽ പുരസ്‌കാരം നേടിയതാര്? പി. ജയചന്ദ്രൻ. (10th Prelims, First Stage, 15/5/2022)


  • K.P. Kumaran – 
    • Major Films – 
      • Rugmini – National Award for Best feature film (1988), Kerala State Film Award (1989)
        •  based on Madhavikutty's Rukminikkoru Pavakutty,
      • Athithi (debut feature film), Thenthulli, Laxmivijayam, Thottam, Neram Pularumbol, Adipapam, Kattile pattu,
      • Akasha Gopuram (2008)
        • based on Henrik Ibsen's play The Master Builder.
      • Gramavrikshathile Kuyil (2020,  life of poet Kumaran Asan)
    • Short film – Rock.
    • co-screenwriter of Adoor Gopalakrishnan's Swayamvaram (1972).
  •  Minister for Cultural Affairs  V.N. Vasavan.

    Thanks for reading!!!