Nobel Prize Winners 2023

List of Nobel Prize Winners 2023

The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious and coveted awards in the world. Established by the will of Alfred Nobel, a Swedish inventor, scientist, and philanthropist best known for developing dynamite. 

The Nobel Prizes are awarded annually to individuals and organizations that have made exceptional contributions to humanity in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace, and, in the case of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, Economic Sciences.

They are awarded by various committees and organizations in Sweden and Norway, as per Alfred Nobel's will. The Nobel Prize in Peace is notably awarded in Oslo, Norway, while the others are presented in Stockholm, Sweden.

For comprehensive details on the Nobel Prize laureates in 2023 across all fields, kindly consult the full list, which is pertinent to all forthcoming Kerala PSC examinations.

List of Nobel Prize Winners 2023

Following is a list of the Nobel prize winners in 2023 for the five categories including Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace:

FieldNobel LaureatesContribution
PhysicsPierre Agostini (Physics)Pierre Agostini
for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.
Ferenc Krausz (Physics)Ferenc Krausz
(Austria, Hungary)
Anne L’HuillierAnne L’Huillier
ChemistryMoungi G. BawendiMoungi G. Bawendi
for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots.
Alexei I. EkimovAlexei I. Ekimov
Louis E. BrusLouis E. Brus
MedicineKatalin KarikóKatalin Karikó
(USA, Hungary)
for their discoveries concerning nucleoside base modifications that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19.
Drew WeissmanDrew Weissman
Economic SciencesClaudia Goldin
for having advanced our understanding of women’s labour market outcomes
LiteratureJon FosseJon Fosse
for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.
PeaceNarges MohammadiNarges Mohammadi
for her fight against the oppression of women in Iran and her fight to promote human rights and freedom for all.

Nobel Prize Winners of 2022:

  • Physics – Alain Aspect, John Clauser,  Anton Zeilinger.
  • Chemistry – Carolyn Bertozzi, Morten Meldal, Barry Sharpless.
  • Medicine – Professor Svante Pääbo,  Ben S. Bernanke.
  • Literature – Annie Ernaux.
  • Peace – Ales Bialiatski, Memorial (Russian rights group)
  • Economic Sciences – Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond, Philip H. Dybvig.

Thanks for reading!!!