EWS Reservation for Kerala PSC

EWS Certificate for Kerala PSC

In January 2019, the Indian Parliament passed the 103rd Constitution Amendment Bill, which amended Articles 15(6) and 16(6) of the Constitution to include a 10% quota for economically weaker sections (EWS) from the unreserved category for direct employment and higher education based on economic criteria.

As a result, in 2019 and 2020, the Department of Personnel and Training and the Kerala Government published EWS quota notifications, allowing qualified persons to apply for an EWS certificate for higher education and Kerala PSC exams by following the outlined procedure.

EWS Quota Eligibility

To qualify for the EWS quota in the upcoming Kerala PSC exams, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Residency – Permanent Resident of Kerala.
  • Category – ‘General’ candidate (not covered under SC/ST/OBC reservations).
  • Annual Income – The family’s gross annual income should be below Rs. 4 lakhs.
    • Family includes: 
      1. Parents, 
      2. Siblings below the age of 18 years,
      3. Spouse & Children below the age of 18 years.
    • The income of the spouse is included in the EWS scheme.
  • Family gross annual income includes income from all sources such as agriculture, salary, unemployment pension, social security pensions, business, etc. for the financial year before the year of application.
    • One Financial Year = April 1 to March 31. eg; April 1, 2022, to March 31, 2023.
  • Restrictions on Asset Ownership – Your family should not own 
    •  more than 2.5 acres of land in the panchayat area, 75 cents of land in the municipal area, or 50 cents in the municipal corporation area.
    • house plots having an area of more than 20 cents in a municipality area or more than 15 cents in a municipal corporation area.
Please note that the eligibility criteria for EWS in UPSC and Kerala PSC slightly varies.

NB: The category "family's assets" doesn't include assets of grandparents, spouse's parents, and spouse's siblings.

General Category EWS Beneficiaries of Kerala

  • Hindus: 147 sub-divisions like Brahmins, Nairs etc.
  • Christians: 17 sub-divisions like Orthodox, Jacobite, Syro Malabar, Syro Malankara, etc
  • Orphans etc. 

Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) recipients and BPL ration card holders are also eligible to apply for the EWS Quota.

When applying for employment advertised by Kerala PSC, qualified candidates must submit a one-time claim for reservation.

Applicants in the General Category should also be aware that there are no relaxations in the number of attempts or the upper age limit specified under the EWS quota.

Procedure for Obtaining EWS Certificate in Kerala

There is no online method prescribed by the government for getting an EWS certificate. You need to go to your local Tehsil or any other local government authority and get an Income and Assets Certificate

Documents required for getting an EWS certificate in Kerala

  1. Pan card
  2. Aadhaar card
  3. Bank statement
  4. Income Certificate
  5. Property Certificate
  6. Domicile Certificate
  7. Passport size photo
  8. Notary authorized self-declaration

Application Process for EWS Certificate in Kerala

The application for the EWS Certificate in Kerala is primarily carried out in the offline mode. Here are the steps you need to follow for the same:

  • Step 1: Download the application form for the EWS Certificate from this link.
  • Step 2: Fill in the required details and attach copies of the necessary documents.
  • Step 3: Submit the completed application form to the regional revenue department office.
  • Step 4: Upon verification by the concerned authorities, a reference number will be generated for future use.
  • Step 5: Collect the certificate from the same office once it is ready and you are notified.

The certificate issued only by any of the following authorities will be accepted as proof of a candidate belonging to the EWS category:

  • District Magistrate / Additional District Magistrate / 1st Class Stipendiary Magistrate / Sub-Divisional Magistrate / Taluka Magistrate / Executive Magistrate / Chief Presidency Magistrate / Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate / Presidency Magistrate,
  • Collector / Deputy Commissioner / Additional Deputy Commissioner / Extra Assistant Commissioner,
  • Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar &
  • Sub-Divisional Officer of the area where the candidate and/or his family normally resides.

For any queries or disputes concerning the EWS Certificate in Kerala, the contact details for resolution are:
  • Address: Vikas Bhavan, PO, Thiruvananthapuram - 695033, Kerala
  • Fax No: 233-6017
  • Phone No: 0471 2332085
  • E-mail ID: tvpmcorpn@gmail.com


You can download the Official revised Kerala Government Gazette in Malayalam for EWS Quota from here.

Don't miss the golden opportunity to apply for the upcoming Kerala PSC exams:

  1. LDC 2024 (503/2023) Last Date: 03/01/2024
  2. LGS 2024 (535/2023) Last Date: 17/01/2024

Thanks for reading!!!