Booker Prize Winners of India: Books & Year

Booker Prize Winners of India: Books & Year
The Man Booker Prize aka Booker Prize is a literary prize awarded annually for the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, and published in the United Kingdom (UK) and Ireland.

Up until 2014, Booker prize was only awarded authors from the UK and Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe, now it is open for all nationalities around the world as long as their work is in English and published in the UK.

2019's Booker Prize was the first time, the prize was jointly shared by two authors.

Booker Prize Winner of 2020 was Douglas Stuart for his book "Shuggie Bain."

Booker Prize

Basic Facts
  • First awarded in – 1969.
  • Former NameBooker-McConnell Prize.
  • LocationGuildhall, London.
  • Presented by
    • Man Group (until 31 May 2019),
    • Crankstart (01 June 2019 onwards).
  • Prize
    • Shortlisted authors £ 2,500 & a designer bound copy of their book.
    • Winners£ 50,000, trophy plus £ 2,500 & a designer bound copy of their book.
  • First Booker Prize Winner P. H. Newby (Something to Answer For).
  • First Woman to win the Booker Prize Bernice Rubens (The Elected Member, 1970).
  • First Person of Indian origin to win Booker PrizeV.S. Naipaul.
  • First Indian Woman to win Man Booker PrizeArundhati Roy.
  • First time Booker Prize was Jointly shared – 2019.
    • Margaret Atwood (The Testaments),
    • Bernardine Evaristo (Girl, Woman, Other).
  • First Black Woman to win the Booker PrizeBernardine Evaristo.
    • First Black British writer to win the Booker PrizeBernardine Evaristo.
  • Oldest Person to win Booker PrizeMargaret Atwood (Canada, 70-year-old).

List of Booker Prize Winners of Indian Origin

Author Year Book
V. S Naipaul 1971 In a Free State
Salman Rushdie 1981 Midnight's Children
Arundhati Roy 1997 The God of Small Things
Kiran Desai 2006 The Inheritance of Loss
Aravind Adiga 2008 The White Tiger

Other Booker Nominees of Indian Origin

The Indian novelists who were shortlisted for Booker prize are as follows:
  • V. S. NaipaulA Bend in the River (1979)
  • Anita Desai 3 Nominations
    • Clear Light of Day (1980)
    • In Custody (1984)
    • Fasting, Feasting (1999)
  • Salman Rushdie4 Nominations
    • Shame (1983)
    • The Satanic Verses (1988)
    • The Moor's Last Sigh (1995)
    • Quichotte (1999)
  • Rohinton Mistry3 nominations
    • Such a Long Journey (1991)
    • A Fine Balance (1996)
    • Family Matters (2002)
  • Indra SinhaAnimal's People (2007)
  • Amitav GhoshSea of Poppies (2008)
  • Jeet ThayilNarcopolis (2012)


  • Margaret Atwood previously won Booker Prize for The Blind Assassin in 2000.
  • Only short story collection to be shortlisted for the Booker Prize – The Beggar Maid (Alice Munro, 1980)
* Updated according to current statistics as on 2021.