Thomas Cup 2022

Thomas Cup for Kerala PSC

The Thomas Cup, also known as the World Men's Team Championships, is an international badminton competition organized by the Badminton World Federation (BWF), an international governing body for the sport of badminton.

The headquarters of BWF is in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and was formed in 1934.

Sir George Alan Thomas, a highly accomplished English badminton player in the early 1900s, devised the Thomas Cup tournament after being inspired by tennis's Davis Cup and football's (soccer's) World Cup, which was first staged in 1930.

He also donated the cup in 1939 for a series of men's international team championships. 

Since 1982, the championships have been contested every two years, as opposed to every three years. 

Malaya won the first tournament by defeating Denmark in the finals, which took place in 1948–49 at Preston, England.  

Only six countries have won the Thomas Cup in the 30 tournaments contested from 1948 to 1949. With 14 victories, Indonesia is the most successful team. China has won ten championships, while Malaysia has won five.

 The only other nations that have lifted the cup include Japan, Denmark, and now India.

India is the current champion, having won its first title in 2022 after defeating defending champions Indonesia 3-0. 

Whereas the third and fourth positions were claimed by Denmark and Japan respectively.

List of Thomas Cup Winners 1982-2022

The following table presents the information regarding the Thomas cup championships that were conducted from 1982 to 2022:

ChinaIndonesiaLondon, England
IndonesiaChinaKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
ChinaIndonesiaJakarta, Indonesia
ChinaMalaysiaKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
ChinaMalaysiaTokyo, Japan
MalaysiaIndonesiaKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
IndonesiaMalaysiaJakarta, Indonesia
IndonesiaDenmarkHong Kong
IndonesiaMalaysiaHong Kong
IndonesiaChinaKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
IndonesiaMalaysiaGuangzhou, China
ChinaDenmarkJakarta, Indonesia
ChinaSouth KoreaJakarta, Indonesia
ChinaSouth KoreaWuhan, China
JapanMalaysiaNew Delhi, India
DenmarkIndonesiaKunshan, China
ChinaJapanBangkok, Thailand
IndonesiaChinaAarhus, Denmark
IndiaIndonesiaBangkok, Thailand

Thomas Cup 2022 Highlights:

Thomas Cup Winners 2022 India

  • Edition – 32nd.
  • Dates – 8-15 May.
  • Venue – Nonthaburi, Bangkok, Thailand.
  • No. of countries participated – 16.
  • Champions – India.

India's men's badminton team won the Thomas Cup for the first time, defeating superpower Indonesia 3-0 in the final. 

In the final of the Thomas Cup in Bangkok, Thailand, India defeated 14-time winners Indonesia 3-0 to win the championship. 

  • India's World Championships bronze medalist Lakshya Sen defeated Anthony Ginting by 8-21, 21-17, 21-16 in a tie in the First Men's Singles, 
  • While in the Second Men's Singles, former world no.1 and World Championships silver medalist  Kidambi Srikanth defeated Jonatan Christie 21-15, 23-21 to make it 3-0  and,
  • The world number 8 doubles combo of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy defeated Mohammad Ahsan-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo 18-21, 23-21, 21-19 in the First Doubles.
In short,

CategoryWinnerRunner Up
First Men’s SinglesLakshya Sen Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (Indonesia)
Second Men’s SinglesKidambi SrikanthJonatan Christie (Indonesia)
First DoublesSatwiksairaj Rankireddy & Chirag Shetty Mohammad Ahsan & Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Indonesia)

These men achieved a historic victory for India who clinched the Thomas Cup for the first time, becoming the sixth nation to do so.

India had reached the semifinals of the Thomas cup in 1952, 1955, and 1979.

Thanks for reading!!!