National Sports Awards 2022


National Sports Awards 2022

This post lists all five National Sports and Adventure Awards Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2022. 

On November 30, 2022, the winners will be presented with their accolades by the President of India at a specially prepared ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

These awards are given out on a yearly basis to recognize and honor athletic accomplishments. The following categories are included in the National Sports Awards 2022:

  1. Arjuna Award
  2. Dronacharya Award
  3. Dhyan Chand Award
  4. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar
  5. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award &
  6. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.
For the first time this year, applications were exclusively accepted online, and athletes/coaches/entities were able to self-apply through a dedicated portal.

The winners were chosen from among the many nominations submitted for these prizes by the Selection Committee, which was chaired by Justice A. M. Khanwilkar, a retired Judge Supreme Court of India, and included members of prominent athletes, sports journalists, and sports administrators.

The upcoming Kerala PSC exams may include one or two questions from the National Sports Awards 2022. As a result, we hope that this material would be useful to Kerala PSC aspirants during their next PSC exams including the degree prelims.

National Sports Awards 2022

The below tables list all the National Sports Awards Winners of the year 2022.

1. List of Dronacharya Awards Winners 2022

The 'Dronacharya Award for Great Coaches in Sports and Games' is granted to coaches who consistently undertake outstanding and meritorious work and enable athletes to thrive in international competitions.

In 2022, three athletes earned the Dronacharya Award in the Lifetime Achievement category, while four athletes received the Dronacharya Award in the Regular category.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Raj SinghWrestling
Dinesh Jawahar LadCricket
Bimal Prafulla GhoshFootball

Regular Awards
Name Discipline
Sujeet MaanWrestling
Jiwanjot Singh TejaArchery
Mohammad Ali QamarBoxing
Suma Siddharth ShirurPara Shooting

2. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2022

The 'Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award' is awarded to a sportsperson for their remarkable and excellent accomplishment in sports during the past four years.

  • Sharath Kamal Achanta (Table Tennis)

3. List of Arjuna Awards Winners 2022

This year, 25 athletes earned the Arjuna award for outstanding achievement in Sports and Games during the preceding four years, as well as for demonstrating traits of leadership, sportsmanship, and discipline.

AthleticsSeema Punia
Eldhose Paul*
Avinash Mukund Sable
BadmintonLakshya Sen
Prannoy HS*
Nikhat Zareen
ChessBhakti Pradip Kulkarni
R Praggnanandhaa
HockeyDeep Grace Ekka
JudoShushila Devi
KabaddiSakshi Kumari
Lawn BowlNayan Moni Saikia
MallakhambSagar Kailas Ovhalkar
ShootingElavenil Valarivan
Omprakash Mitharval
Table TennisSreeja Akula
WeightliftingVikas Thakur
Para-BadmintonManasi Girishchandra Joshi
Tarun Dhillon
Para SwimmingSwapnil Sanjay Patil
Deaf BadmintonJerlin Anika J

* Malayalees who received Arjuna Award 2022 – Eldhose Paul & Prannoy HS.

4. Dhyan Chand Award 2022

The 'Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games' is granted to athletes who have contributed to sports through their performance and who continue to contribute to the promotion of sports events after they retire.

Name Discipline
B.C. SureshKabaddi
Dharamvir SinghHockey
Ashwini Akkunji C.Athletics
Nir Bahadur GurungPara Athletics

5. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2022

The 'Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar' is awarded to corporate companies (both private and public sector), Sports Control Boards, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and sports bodies at the state and national levels that have played a visible role in sports promotion and development.

Ladakh Ski & Snowboard AssociationSports for Development

TransStadia Enterprises Pvt. Ltd.
Identification & Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent
Kalinga Institute of Industrial TechnologyEncouragement of sports through Corporate Social Responsibility

6. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2022

The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy is awarded to the university with the best overall performance in inter-university events.
  • First Awarded in – 1956.
  • Cash Prize –  ₹15 lakh.
  • 2022 Winner – Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar.


  • Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports  – Anurag Thakur.

Thanks for reading!!!