First in Kerala – PART I | Administration & Judiciary

First in Kerala – Administration & Judiciary

This post discusses the comprehensive list of First in Kerala. There are too many categories and sub-categories to list in one post. So we'll do a category-wise series for this topic.

The list contains the visionaries and extraordinary people of Kerala in the field of Administration and Judiciary.

First in Kerala – PART I 

Administration & Governance

  • First Travancore King – Marthanda Varma.
  • First Diwan of Travancore – Arumukan Pillai.
  • First Prime Minister of Independent Travancore state – Pattom Thanu Pillai (24 March 1948 – 17 October 1948).
  • Second & Last Prime Minister of Travancore – Paravoor T.K. Narayana Pillai ( 22 October 1948).
  • First Chief Minister of Travancore-Cochin – Paravoor T.K. Narayana Pillai (1949).
  • First General Election in Kerala – 1957.
  • First Chief Minister of Kerala – E.M.S Namboodiripad.
  • First Governor of Kerala – Dr. B. Ramakrishna Rao.
  • First Malayali to contest in Presidential Election – Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer (against R. Venkataraman, 1987, lost by 458598 votes).
  • First Indian President from Kerala – K. R. Narayanan.
    • First Indian President to vote in the General Election – K. R. Narayanan.
    • K.R Narayanan became the president of India in – 1997.
  • First Legislative Assembly Speaker – R. Sankaranarayanan Thampi.
  • First Congress Chief Minister of Kerala – R. Sankar.
  • First Woman Minister – K. R. Gauri.
  • First Minister from the Dalit Community in Kerala – P.K. Chathan.
  • First Non-Congress (Communist, CPI) State government with Majority by a single party – E. M. S. Namboodiripad (1957).
  • First Person to become member of Kerala legislative assembly through court order – Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer.
  • First Person to lose membership of Kerala legislative assembly under court order  – Rosamma Punnoose.
  • First Malayali President of Indian National Congress – Sir. C. Sankaran Nair.
  • First Malayali to become India's first Railway Minister – Dr. John Matthai.
    • First Malayali to become India's Finance Minister – Dr. John Matthai.
    • First Keralite became a member of the Central Cabinet and served twice as Finance Minister – Dr. John Matthai.
  • First Malayali Defence Minister of India – V.K. Krishna Menon.
    • First Malayali to become India’s first High Commissioner to Britain – V.K. Krishna Menon.
  • First Cabinet Secretary of India – Sir N.R. Pillai (1950).
  • First Malayali to become Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha – M.M. Jacob.
  • First Malayali become Chief Election Commissioner of India – T.N. Seshan (1990).
  • First Malayali to appointed as the Governor of an Indian State
    V.P. Menon (Odisha,1951).
  • First Malayali to be appointed as the Governor of Kerala – V. Viswanathan.
  • First Kerala Chief Minister to be a participant in the 35th World Economic Forum held at Davos in Switzerland – Oommen Chandy.

Click here to Know More about First Women in Kerala

Judiciary & Armed Forces

  • First Chief Justice of High Court of Kerala – K. T. Koshi.
  • First Malayali Chief Justice of Supreme Court – Justice K. G. Balakrishnan.
  • First Fast Track Court in Kerala – Kottayam.
  • First SC/ST Court in Kerala – Manjeri (Malappuram).
  • First "Litigation-free" Village in Kerala – Varavoor Panchayat (Thrissur, 2000).
  • First Inspector General (IG) of Kerala Police – N. Chandrashekaran Nair.
  • First Director General of Police (DGP) of Kerala Police – Anandasayanam Iyer.
  • First Cyber ​​Police Station in Kerala – State Crime Records Bureau, Pattom (TVM).
  • First Computerized Police Station in Kerala – Peroorkada.
  • First Tourist Police Station in Kerala – Mattancherry.
  • First Coastal Police Station in Kerala – Neendakara (Kollam).
  • First Temple Police Station in Kerala – Guruvayur.
  • First Women Police Station in Kerala – Kozhikode (1973, inaugurated by Indira Gandhi).
  • First ISO Certified Police Station in Kerala – Kozhikode Town Police Station.
  • First ISO 9001 Certified Law Enforcement Agency in Kerala state – Kollam City Police.
  • First Open Prison in Kerala – Nettukalthery (Kattakada).
  • First Prison for Women in Kerala – Neyyattinkara.
    • First Open Women’s Jail In Kerala – Poojapura.
      • Kerala’s Largest Jail – Poojapura Central Jail.
First in Kerala-Static GK for PSC

📝 Read More:

    1. First in Kerala – PART II | Education, Press & Literature
    2. First in Kerala – PART III | Science, Technology & Economy
    3. First in Kerala – PART IV | Awards, Films & Sports
    4. First in Kerala – PART V | Museums, Parks & Panchayats
    5. First in Kerala – PART VI | History
    6. First in Kerala – PART VII | Miscellaneous


  • Bhishmacharya of Kerala Politics – Pattom Thanu Pillai.
  • Litigation – the process of taking legal action.
  • V.K. Krishna Menon Award – given by ‘V.K. Krishna Menon Institute’ on 123rd birth anniversary of V.K. Krishna Menon.
  • Author of "A Chequered Brilliance: The Many Lives Of Krishna Menon"– Jairam Ramesh.
The post "First in Kerala" is a very vast topic, so we'll be updating it frequently.

Thanks for reading!!!