National Sports Awards 2023 Winners

National Sports Awards 2023

The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has disclosed the recipients of the National Sports and Adventure Awards for 2023. 

The presentation ceremony, hosted at Rashtrapati Bhavan, will take place on January 9, 2024, where the President of India, Droupadi Murmu will confer the honors.

These awards, an annual recognition of athletic achievements, encompass various categories within the National Sports Awards 2023, including:

  1. Arjuna Award
  2. Dronacharya Award
  3. Dhyan Chand Award
  4. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award &
  5. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.
The applications were exclusively accepted online, and athletes/coaches/entities were able to self-apply through a dedicated portal.

The winners were selected from a pool of numerous nominations by the Selection Committee, headed by Justice A. M. Khanwilkar, a retired Judge of the Supreme Court of India, along with distinguished athletes, sports journalists, and sports administrators as committee members.

This information on the National Sports Awards 2023 might prove beneficial to candidates preparing for the upcoming Kerala PSC exams, potentially featuring a couple of questions related to this topic. 

Hence, aspirants for the Kerala PSC, including those appearing for the degree prelims, may find this material advantageous for their exam preparation.

National Sports Awards 2023

The below tables list all the National Sports Awards Winners of the year 2023.

1. List of Dronacharya Awards Winners 2023

The 'Dronacharya Award for Great Coaches in Sports and Games' is granted to coaches who consistently undertake outstanding and meritorious work and enable athletes to thrive in international competitions.

In 2023, three athletes earned the Dronacharya Award in the Lifetime Achievement category, while five athletes received the Dronacharya Award in the Regular category.

Lifetime Achievement Award

E. BhaskaranKabaddi
Jashkirat Singh Grewal Golf
Jayanta Kumar PushilalTable Tennis

Regular Awards
Lalit KumarWrestling
R. B. RameshChess
Shivendra SinghHockey
Maheveer Prasad SainiPara Athletics
Ganesh Prabhakar DevrukhkarMallakhamb

2. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2023

The 'Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award' is awarded to a sportsperson for their remarkable and excellent accomplishment in sports during the past four years.

  • Rankireddy Satwik Sai Raj & Chirag Chandrashekhar Shetty  (Badminton)

3. Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports & Games 2023

This award is granted to athletes who have contributed to sports through their performance and who continue to contribute to the promotion of sports events after they retire.

Kavitha Selvaraj Kabaddi
Manjusha Kanwar Badminton
Vineet Kumar SharmaHockey

4. List of Arjuna Awards Winners 2023

This year, 26 athletes earned the Arjuna award for outstanding achievement in Sports and Games during the preceding four years, as well as for demonstrating traits of leadership, sportsmanship, and discipline.

AthleticsParul Chaudhary
Sreeshankar M*
Avinash Mukund Sable
ArcheryOjas Pravin Deotale
Aditi Gopichand Swami
BoxingMohamed Hussamuddin
CricketMohammed Shami
ChessR. Vaishali
EquestrianAnush Agarwalla
Equestrian DressageDivyakriti Singh
GolfDiksha Dagar
HockeyKrishan Bahadur Pathak
Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu
KabaddiRitu Negi
Pawan Kumar
Lawn BowlPinki
ShootingEsha Singh
Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar
SquashHarinder Pal Singh Sandhu
Table TennisAyhika Mukherjee
Sunil Kumar
WushuNaorem Roshibina Devi
Para ArcherySheetal Devi
Para CanoeingPrachi Yadav
Blind CricketIlluri Ajay Kumar Reddy

Malayali who received Arjuna Award 2023 – Sreeshankar M.

5. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023

The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy is awarded to the university with the best overall performance in inter-university events.
  • First Awarded in – 1956.
  • Cash Prize –  ₹15 lakh.
  • 2023 Winners – 
    • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (Overall winning university),
    • Lovely Professional University, Punjab (1st Runner Up),
    • Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra (2nd Runner Up).

Also Refer: 


  • Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports  – Anurag Thakur.

Thanks for reading!!!